Cheeseburger Soup (a la Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives): Take 2!

15 12 2009

I told you this recipe wasn’t going to be a one-time try!!! And boy am I glad that I decided to try this again—I think it’s even better this time!

So, let me tell you a little story of a woman—a 29 year old woman.  She lifted too much weight at her workout class, therefore, pulling two muscles in her back and neck!  Yep…stupid….and yep, the woman is me :-)  After spending 5 days in pain, I headed to the doctor who loaded me up on medications!  I have to say, that although I’m a zombie half of the day, it sure does take away the pain :-)

Well, the one thing that can always get my mind off of pain is, of course, FOOD! LOL!  As I sat, heat behind my neck, trying to not use the muscle relaxers and pain killers until absolutely necessary (and closer to bed time), I knew I needed a distraction.  And what is better than a warm, cheesey soup on a miserably cold day?! And since I loaded up on meat at the store, I had the ingredients for the famous Cheeseburger Soup!

Let me take you back over a month ago….November 9th, to be exact.  I had been CRAVING the Cheeseburger Soup I had seen on “Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives”.  I made up a recipe pretty much identical to what I watched on Triple D.  However, I planned to try to make changes the next time I made it, and OF COURSE, report back :-)

Well, that day is today!  If you need a reminder of my first recipe for the “Grover’s” Cheeseburger Soup from November 9th.  This time, I tried to make it creamier without the added fat and calories!!!

Cheeseburger Soup

Ingredients:

1 lb 92% or96% lean ground beef  (I will include nutritional info for both below)

Hamburger seasoning or salt/pepper (Whatever you use to season your burgers with–I use McCormick’s Hamburger Seasoning and Lawry’s Seasoning Salt)

1/2 large onion, diced

1/2 Tb light butter

2 cups (16 oz) Reduced Sodium Chicken Broth

1/4 of a 2 lb log  of 2% Velveeta Cheese, cut into cubes

1/4 (2 oz) of a package of 1/3 less fat cream cheese, cut into cubes

1/4 cup skim milk

1-2 Tb cornstarch

1 Tb cold water

1 medium tomatoes, diced

1/4  head of lettuce, shredded

Directions:

In a skillet sprayed with cooking spray, brown the ground beef.  Season with your choice of hamburger seasonings—I used McCormick Hamburger seasoning and Lawry’s Seasoning Salt.  Drain and set aside.

In a medium saucepan , add the light butter and diced onion.  Allow the onion to sweat over medium heat.  When the onions become translucent, you are ready to continue.

Add the chicken broth,  the diced Velveeta and the diced cream cheese. Turn the head down to medium low and allow the two cheeses to melt into the mixture, stirring often.

Once the cheeses have melted, add the milk.

In a small bowl or ramekin, mix the cornstarch and water to make a slurry–add water as necessary, but you really want just enough water to let the cornstarch come to a smooth mixture–not clumpy.   Once mixed well, add to the cheesey mixture. Stir to combine.

Add the ground beef to the soup pot.

Dice tomatoes and shred lettuce and then add to the mixture.  Stir to combine and turn to low heat until ready to eat.

So, there you have it, ladies.  Try 2 of Cheeseburger Soup.  Although, I was able to get a creamier texture using the cream cheese, I don’t know that I was really successful in lowering the fat and calories.  So, of course, that means I need to do a Take 3 sometime soon :-)

I did realize that my serving size before was TOO BIG (1.5 cups), or at least for me…I was never able to eat the entire bowl, even though it was delicious–my tummy was just so full!  So, I have lowered the size to 1 cup, but if you do the math, it really is only slightly lower in calories than my first attemp :-)

Oh, and I’m sure you noticed, but instead of making a HUGE pot full, I made half a batch, which still makes 7 cups!

I’m including nutritional information for both 92% Lean and 96% lean ground beef, since we are not always able to get 96%, and I’m sure we’re not alone in that issue :-)

Nutritional Information

Servings: 7 (1 cup each)

Per Serving: (92% lean / 96% lean)

Calories: 210 / 198

Fat: 10.8 g / 8.2g

Fiber: .79 g

WW pt: 5 / 4

Actions

Information

18 responses

18 02 2010
Jackie Garrison

I’m so glad I stumbled on to your site! I’ve been craving the Cheeseburger Soup since the Triple D episode re-ran earlier this week!

I’m going to try it tonight for dinner. I’m anxious to see how well it goes over with my finicky 6 year old.
I’ll report our results!

Thanks again!

18 02 2010
Jackie Garrison

Hi again!
I’m posting our results!
It was a hit! DH even went back for seconds, and is taking leftovers for lunch tomorrow!
Even the 6 year old ate it without an argument!

I’m planning to make it again. I just wish it was a WEE bit thicker, but I think some cheddar cheese would thicken it up nicely.

Thanks again for this awesome family pleasing recipe!

18 02 2010
akcampbell08

Oh, thank you so much, Jackie, for posting your results! I’m so glad you enjoyed it. I think you could probably add, like you said, more cheese, or a bit more cornstarch (with ever so little water) to the mixture. Doesn’t it taste just absolutely yummy?!!!

So glad you liked it—comfort at its’ finest ;-)

Hope to keep you around as a regular reader!!!
~Amanda

1 03 2010
Colette

Thanks for posting the recipe. I made it tonight with a few adjustments that might work for others too….
Instead of using Velveeta (which I consider WAY to salty) I used a jar of Ragu cheese sauce. I added about a teaspoon of ground mustard to give it a little depth. As a garnish, I chopped up some hamburger dills to “cut” the “richness”.

Thanks again for posting your recipe. With out it I would have never gotten off to the right start!!!

1 03 2010
Colette

PS.. cut tomatoes in half and squeeze the seeds out before dicing.

21 12 2010
leti

Just saw the episode on d. d. & d.. Saw that she did use mustard in her recipe. Will try your recipe but will add the mustard. Can’t wait to try it. Thanks much.

10 01 2011
Amy

I had also seen this and thought they used mustard. After seeing this recipe I called the restaurant and asked them if they used mustard and she went back and asked. No they do not use mustard. I would have sworn I seen her pour a huge amount of mustard in there. I was wrong!!!
Thanks for the recipe!!!!

10 01 2011
akcampbell08

Amy- thank you so much for real definitive clarification! I think confusion arose because mustard was mentioned (Guy mentioned it when she poured in the cheese). I felt pretty good about the fact that there wasn’t mustard (I’ve kept watchig the episode every time it’s been on). But I was starting to wonder if I was going crazy or something..thanks again for clarifying!!!

9 01 2011
Debra

I have seen the episode of DDD with the cheeseburger soup twice.My husband was watching also and really wanted to try the soup. So I decided to search online to see if I could find the recipe. Thanks so much for posting it !! I am going to make it asap. Cant wait to taste it.

9 01 2011
akcampbell08

I hope you enjoy it as much as I do, Debra :-)

12 01 2011
Lorrie

Thanks so much for posting this. I saw the episode of DDD yesterday and started looking for a recipe right away.
I’m going to give this a shot.
Thanks again.
Mmmm

20 01 2011
Susan

Stumbled across a reference today for “Cheeseburger Soup” and yours was the first link that I tried. I needed to try no others – it was meant to be. I had leftover chicken broth that I needed to use or freeze, a pound give or take of hamburger that I needed to use or freeze, remnants of velveeta, cream cheese and Rotels that were up for grabs too. I decided your recipe was meant to help me clean out my fridge. I opted to use Mild Rotels with green chiles rather than add the tomatoes and lettuce at the end. My husband is sitting here on his second bowl. So I would say that it was a major hit. We make a dip with the rotels, velveeta and Jimmy Dean Sausage – thought I would try that combo another day. Thanks for the recipe.

1 02 2011
Rebeca

I have been looking for the DDD cheeseburger soup recipe ever since I watch teh episode. My husband and i really want to try it. Although I have found many recipes for cheeseburger soup, they all had potatoes and other ingreditents that I didnt quite recall from the episode and so i havent bothered to try any of them. Anyhow, now I am so excited to try this one. I will let you know how it comes out!

27 12 2011
Amy

I am excited to try your version of this soup!!! I agree with Rebeca (above) that all the recipes I have found had things in it that you would never have on a burger (potatoes, peppers celery)!

I am making this tonight. Oh, and got thinking: “I wonder if I could add cooked crumbled bacon to it and have Bacon Cheeseburger soup?” :) I have decided to use bacon as a garnish and see how it tastes with and without! LOL

Thank you for the recipe, it seems awfully close to what I saw on TV late last night! And you are right about the mustard. Guy commented that the cheese LOOKED like mustard, but she confirmed that it was indeed cheese (sauce)….I assume like cheese whiz?? Anyway, no mustard! I will garnish with bacon and pickles and will leave an update tomorrow….

27 12 2011
akcampbell08

Ooohh–I haven’t thought about pickles! Yummm…let me know what you think! Thanks for the kind words–hope you enjoy!
~Amanda

28 12 2011
Abby

made this tonight and oh my goodness it was sooooo good I increased a couple of items in recipe to make more of course but followed what was in it looks just like what was on trible D. good job girl

17 02 2012
Ferlie

Re potatoes in the Cheeseburger soup……..you might not have them in a burger but they sure would be beside in the form of fries. This is one of our favourite soups but always add the potato. So good!!

27 03 2012
Mary W.

I made this for supper tonight and it was a hit all the way around. I only made the 1/2 batch recipe. We ate the whole pot. My husband liked it so much he went back to the store so I could make another 1/2 batch so he would have lunch for tomorrow! Thanks for the great recipe!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 186 other followers

